Mets to House 3 of 4 Minor League Affilates Within NY State

The New York Mets today announced that three of their four minor league affiliates will be located in the Empire State (Syracuse, Binghamton, and Brooklyn), while their fourth will be at their Spring Training facility in Port St. Lucie, FL, according to a Columbia Fireflies’ press release. 

As part of Major League Baseball’s ongoing restructuring of Minor League Baseball, MLB League teams have placed a heightened emphasis on the geography of their affiliates.  

With that, the Columbia Fireflies, the Mets former low-level Single-A affiliate in the South Atlantic League (SAL), will have a new Major League affiliate from 2021 forward. Columbia will announce its new affiliate at a later date. 

Home of the Fireflies, Segra Park, voted both the 2016 Ballpark Digest Ballpark of the Year and the Ballpark of the Decade for the 2010s, is one of the top facilities in all of Minor League Baseball and is assured of a place in the revamped Minor League system, per release. 

As far as which city will host which level of minor league ball, I am guessing that Syracuse will remain New York’s Triple-A affiliate.

Furthermore, rumors have swirled that the Brooklyn Cyclones, the Mets’ short-season, New York-Penn affiliate in Coney Island, will move to Double-A. 

Therefore, if that occurs, that leaves the Binghamton Rumble Ponies and St. Lucie to fill New York’s Single-A and Rookie Level affiliate slots.

But that is just speculation on my part at the moment.

— Jerry Del Priore 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.