13 Players, 2 Coaches Make the 2019 College Football HOF Class

By Jerry Del Priore 

2019 class
2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class

As college football gets ready to revel in its 150th anniversary in 2019, 13 All-Americans and two coaches have made this year’s College Football Hall of Fame Class, the National Football Foundation (NFF) and the College Football Hall of Fame announced today on ESPN’s SportsCenter from Santa Clara, California, the site of the College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship. The game will be played tonight at Levi’s Stadium between No. 1 Alabama (14-0) and No. 2 Clemson (14-0). 

The distinguished class includes players: 

  • Terrell Buckley (Defensive Back, Florida State University) 
  • Rickey Dixon (Defensive Back, Univeristy of Oklahoma, 1984-87)
  • London Fletcher (Linebacker, John Carroll [OH], 1995-97)
  • Jacob Green (Defensive Lineman, Texas A&M, 1977-79) 
  • Torry Holt (Wide Receiver, North Carolina State, 1995-98) 
  • Raghib Ismail (Kick Returner/Wide Receiver, Notre Dame, 1988-90)
  • Darren McFadden, (Running back, Arkansas, 2005-07)
  • Troy Polamalu, (Defensive Back, Southern California,1999-2002) 
  • Joe Thomas, Offensive Lineman, Wisconsin, 2003-06) 
  • Lorenzo White, (Running Back, Michigan State, 1984-87)
  • Patrick Willis, (Linebacker, Mississippi 2003-06)
  • Vince Young, (QB, Texas, 2003 -05)

The Coaches include: 

  • Dennis Erickson – 179-96-1 (65.0%); Idaho (1982-85, 2006), Wyoming (1986), Washington State (1987-88), Miami [FL] (1989-94), Oregon State (1999-2002), Arizona State (2007-11). 
  • Joe Taylor – 233-96-4 (70.6%); Howard (1983), Virginia Union (1984-91), Hampton (1992-2007), Florida A&M (2008-12).

“Rocket” Ismail  appeared live during the show for the announcement, representing the 2018 class and sharing his thoughts on the induction. Ismail will be joined tonight by Patrick Willis, participating in the coin toss on the field during the championship game. 

The 2019 College Hall of Fame will officially induct the class during the 62nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10, 2019, at the New York Hilton Midtown. 

Please check out my other blog @NYNJEntertainmentEats.com.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.